My first scrapbooking attempt

The day that I finally sat down and attempted my first scrapbooking page was a fairly momentous one within my little bubble.  After starting out selling used postage stamps for charity on eBay some 12 years ago, I progressed to buying and selling for a profit and fell into crafts.  At one point my eBay page was turning over some serious $$ and morphed into my own dedicated website.  For some reason I decided I wanted to purchase a local cafe (to start paying some bills, rather than spending everything on new craft stock all the time) and since that time I’ve had a huge quantity of leftover stock going unused.  I should sell it …. there is literally tons of it in my storage shed and it’s become a sore point with my husband these days …. but I can never seem to find the time to catalogue it etc.  So for now, I’ve started picking through it and using it myself.

For my first foray, I chose a lovely photo I had taken of my husband and two eldest children while we had been out to dinner at Palm Cove celebrating the (rather unexpected) news that we were going to have a fourth child.  The photo was taken in the moment that the boys were told.

Palm Cove beach is a lovely spot in FNQ – popular for weddings and holidays, it has an amazing laid-back “resort” style vibe with shops and cafes along the waterfront and a pier that has some great fishing.

Picture from palmcove.net
Palm Cove Beachfront – NOT photoshopped! We wake up to this every day in sunny FNQ. Credit for photo goes to http://www.palmcove.net
prettydelicioustravels
A sample of the shops along Palm Cove beachfront … we love it here.  Credit for photo goes to http://www.prettydelicioustravels.com

I wanted to make the photo stand out because I loved it so much, and I also wanted it to have a tropical vibe because of our location.  To be honest, the colour selections probably could have been better.  But it was my first attempt … I was trying to pull out the blue from the corner of the picture, and make it pop from the page.

For this page, I literally just cut the photo to size and put it on a black cardstock mat board, then layered it against a blue cardstock mat board.  Then I stuck it to the page.  The page is from Kaisercraft’s Tropicana collection.  Then I stuck on some flowers (from Bo Bunny & Kaisercraft) and wooden palm tree fronds and bird (Kaisercraft) which had been inked a little bit.  The only thing I got slightly fancy with was the title.  It’s a chipboard title from Words or Whatever which was inked with blue and black Distress Inks (Tim Holtz).  Then I sprinkled some American Crafts embossing powder over it, pointed the heat gun at it and voila.

11066561_10153685093349278_1753696871326860237_n

So my first scrapbooking page was certainly not a complex one.  It’s pretty simple, but it’s effective too.  If I were going to do it again, I would probably choose a background paper that was pale blue to allow the picture to shine.  But I was hell-bent on using this “tropical” paper.  But the layout itself is an easy one to reproduce.  You don’t need hundreds of layers to a page.

For so long I had collected all these tools and supplies but stopped short of actually using them, not knowing where to start.  Making something simple like this is a great way to get the ball rolling.  Flowers are your friend …. they work on many layouts and are easy to use.

Leave a Reply

